⏱ 13 min read  ·  ✅ Updated Oct 2026

Last Updated: October 29, 2026

⚠️ Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Links marked with "Check on Amazon" are affiliate links — learn more.

A cosmetic advent calendar is a countdown box with a beauty product behind every door, and the question that matters is what is actually behind those doors. Some calendars are mostly full-size makeup, some mix makeup and skincare, and others lean on mini samples or accessories. Before you pick a brand, decide whether the person opening it wants lipsticks and palettes, a broader beauty and body-care mix, or simply a fun daily surprise that looks good on a shelf.

This guide is for gift buyers planning ahead for the 2026 holiday season and for anyone who treats December as an excuse to restock their makeup bag. It covers seven calendars from big-name retailers and value brands, judged only on what their titles say about product counts, size mix and category. When a title does not state the contents, the advice is to read the full listing before ordering, since advent boxes sell out and cannot be exchanged once the days have been opened.

Quick Picks

e.l.f. Express Your e.l.f. 2026 Beauty Advent Calendar, 24 Days of Gifts | 18 Full-Size Products + 6 Minis, Festive Holiday Makeup & Skincare, Vegan & Cruelty-Free

e.l.f. Express Your e.l.f. 2026 Beauty Advent Calendar, 24 Days of Gifts | 18 Full-Size Products + 6 Minis, Festive Holiday Makeup & Skincare, Vegan & Cruelty-Free

Included for '7 Best Cosmetic Advent Calendar (October 2026)' as a representative gaming product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.

View on Amazon

Sephora Favorites - 25 Days of Beauty Must Haves Advent Calendar

Sephora Favorites - 25 Days of Beauty Must Haves Advent Calendar

Included for '7 Best Cosmetic Advent Calendar (October 2026)' as a representative gaming product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.

View on Amazon

W7 Beauty Blast 2026 Makeup Advent Calendar - 24 Cosmetic Treats | 24 Individually Numbered Boxes, Cruelty-Free Formulas, Mini and Full-Size Products, Beauty Gifting, For Women & Teen Girls

W7 Beauty Blast 2026 Makeup Advent Calendar - 24 Cosmetic Treats | 24 Individually Numbered Boxes, Cruelty-Free Formulas, Mini and Full-Size Products, Beauty Gifting, For Women & Teen Girls

Included for '7 Best Cosmetic Advent Calendar (October 2026)' as a representative gaming product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.

View on Amazon

Sephora Favorites - 25 Days of Beauty Must Haves Advent Calendar - 2026 | Full, Mini & Deluxe Sizes, Makeup & Skincare, Haircare & Body Care, Limited-Edition Holiday Set, 25 Products Included

Sephora Favorites - 25 Days of Beauty Must Haves Advent Calendar - 2026 | Full, Mini & Deluxe Sizes, Makeup & Skincare, Haircare & Body Care, Limited-Edition Holiday Set, 25 Products Included

Included for '7 Best Cosmetic Advent Calendar (October 2026)' as a representative gaming product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.

View on Amazon

Makeup Advent Calendar 2026, 24 Days Christmas Countdown Calendar Gift Kit, Xmas Holiday Festival Cosmetic Makeup Set with 24 Full Makeup Surprises for Women, Teen Girls & Beauty Lovers

Makeup Advent Calendar 2026, 24 Days Christmas Countdown Calendar Gift Kit, Xmas Holiday Festival Cosmetic Makeup Set with 24 Full Makeup Surprises for Women, Teen Girls & Beauty Lovers

Included for '7 Best Cosmetic Advent Calendar (October 2026)' as a representative gaming product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.

View on Amazon

Revolution 24-Day Advent Beauty Calendar 2026, Holiday Makeup Gift Set | Includes 10 Full-Size Products, 8 Minis & 6 Accessories for Lips, Eyes & Face for a Glow-Up Routine, Vegan & Cruelty-Free

Revolution 24-Day Advent Beauty Calendar 2026, Holiday Makeup Gift Set | Includes 10 Full-Size Products, 8 Minis & 6 Accessories for Lips, Eyes & Face for a Glow-Up Routine, Vegan & Cruelty-Free

Included for '7 Best Cosmetic Advent Calendar (October 2026)' as a representative gaming product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.

View on Amazon

Sephora Collection Limited Edition Advent Calendar - 24 Beauty Surprises | Makeup, Skincare, Bath & Accessories Surprises

Sephora Collection Limited Edition Advent Calendar - 24 Beauty Surprises | Makeup, Skincare, Bath & Accessories Surprises

Included for '7 Best Cosmetic Advent Calendar (October 2026)' as a representative gaming product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.

View on Amazon

ProductBest forKey spec from the title
e.l.f. Beauty Advent CalendarMostly full-size makeup and skincare24 days, 18 full-size and 6 minis, vegan
Sephora Favorites 25 DaysBrand-name variety25 days of beauty must-haves
W7 Beauty Blast Makeup Advent CalendarBudget-friendly makeup24 numbered boxes, cruelty-free, mini and full-size
Makeup Advent Calendar, 24 Days KitBasic makeup surprise set24 full makeup surprises
Revolution 24-Day Beauty CalendarLips, eyes and face looks10 full-size, 8 minis, 6 accessories
Sephora Collection Limited Edition CalendarMakeup plus bath and skincare24 surprises across four categories
UCANBE Makeup Advent CalendarTeens and young adults24-day set for women and teen girls

How to Choose

Look at the full-size versus mini split

Product counts alone mislead. A calendar with 24 items may be mostly minis, while one that lists 18 full-size products and 6 minis is built differently. The e.l.f. and Revolution titles spell out their split, which makes comparison easy. When a listing says only “mini and full-size,” treat the value as unknown until you see the contents.

As a rough rule, a calendar with a large full-size share earns its cost back in actual products, while one heavy on minis earns it back in novelty. Neither approach is wrong. The mistake is paying a full-size expectation for a sampler, so read the size language in each title before you compare boxes.

Decide between makeup only and a broader beauty mix

Some calendars are pure makeup, with lip, eye and face items. Others, such as the Sephora Favorites and Sephora Collection options, mix skincare, haircare, bath and accessories. A mixed calendar suits someone who likes trying new categories, while a makeup-only box suits a person with a defined routine.

Think about the person’s current routine as well. Someone who wears a full face daily will use up lip and eye products quickly, while a skincare-first user may find a makeup-only box sits untouched. When you cannot tell, a mixed box is the safer gamble because at least some doors will match her habits.

Check the brand claims that matter to you

Terms such as vegan and cruelty-free appear on the e.l.f. and W7 titles, and that matters for ethical shoppers. Shade range and skin tone matching are rarely clear in a title, so read the description if undertones or sensitivities are a concern. Do not rely on the word “full” in a title as proof of generous sizes.

Inclusive shopping deserves a note as well. Some value calendars may offer a limited shade range across lip colors and face items, which can be a poor match for deeper or very fair skin. If shade matters, look for listings that show swatches or name the products, and consider adding a few staples of your own.

Know where budget calendars cut corners

Lower-tier calendars often bulk up the count with accessories like brushes or sponges, and generic kits may carry unfamiliar brands. That is fine for fun or for teens experimenting, but it is not the same as an assortment of recognized names. Also check delivery timing so the box arrives before December 1.

Lastly, treat the countdown itself as part of the gift. A calendar that is opened each morning builds anticipation in a way a single large box does not, and the smaller the items, the more the ritual matters. If the recipient would rather have everything at once, a regular makeup set is a better fit than any calendar.

The 7 Best Options

e.l.f. Beauty Advent Calendar

This one is explicit about contents: 24 days of gifts with 18 full-size products and 6 minis across makeup and skincare. It is vegan, according to the title, and aimed at festive holiday gifting. A high full-size share makes it the strongest value signal among the budget-minded options.

  • Strength: 18 full-size items out of 24.
  • Strength: combines makeup and skincare in one box.
  • Trade-off: all products come from one brand, so no variety of labels.

It suits a first-time makeup buyer who wants a daily routine built from one coordinated line. Skip it if you want a mix of different beauty brands.

Sephora Favorites 25 Days of Beauty Must Haves

Twenty-five days of products from the retailer’s favorites lineup, with the listing referencing makeup, skincare, haircare and body care in full, mini and deluxe sizes. It suits someone who wants to try a range of names rather than commit to one brand. The extra day beyond 24 is a small bonus.

  • Strength: broad category mix across beauty and body care.
  • Strength: multiple size tiers hint at both samples and bigger items.
  • Trade-off: limited-edition boxes can sell out quickly.

It is a good fit for a friend who likes discovering brands she may buy again. Skip it if you only want makeup.

W7 Beauty Blast Makeup Advent Calendar

Twenty-four individually numbered boxes, labeled cruelty-free, containing mini and full-size products. The numbered boxes make the countdown feel traditional, and W7 sits on the value side of the market. It is aimed at makeup fans who want a daily surprise without a premium commitment.

  • Strength: clearly numbered boxes enhance the countdown.
  • Strength: cruelty-free positioning appeals to ethical shoppers.
  • Trade-off: the full-size to mini ratio is not given.

It is also an easy way to gift a friend a full month of makeup play without a premium commitment. Skip it if the recipient wants prestige brand names.

Makeup Advent Calendar 24 Days Countdown Kit

A generic holiday makeup kit with 24 makeup surprises, marketed as a Christmas countdown gift set. It targets shoppers who want a festive makeup collection and are comfortable with an unbranded or lesser-known label. The “full makeup surprises” wording suggests an all-makeup mix.

  • Strength: 24 makeup items without skincare filler.
  • Strength: festive framing suits gift giving.
  • Trade-off: the title names no brand or product breakdown.

Because the contents are not itemized, it works best as a low-stakes gift for someone who enjoys surprises. Skip it if recognizable brands or detailed contents matter to you.

Revolution 24-Day Advent Beauty Calendar

This calendar lists 10 full-size products, 8 minis and 6 accessories for lips, eyes and face. The split is clear, and the accessories mean a fair share of the 24 slots are tools rather than products. It is a good match for someone who builds looks and uses brushes or applicators.

  • Strength: a transparent breakdown of sizes and categories.
  • Strength: accessories add practical tools to the makeup.
  • Trade-off: only 10 full-size products, fewer than the e.l.f. option.

Anyone who enjoys experimenting with eye looks and layered color will get the most from the tools included. Skip it if you want mostly full-size makeup items.

Sephora Collection Limited Edition Advent Calendar

Twenty-four surprises spanning makeup, skincare, bath and accessories, from the retailer’s own collection. It is a pleasant middle ground between a pure makeup calendar and a broad lifestyle box, and the limited-edition label signals a seasonal item.

  • Strength: four categories keep the daily surprises varied.
  • Strength: store-brand collection offers a consistent look.
  • Trade-off: the title does not state size breakdown.

It also suits a person who treats December as a self-care month, since bath items sit alongside the makeup. Skip it if the recipient wants only color cosmetics.

UCANBE Makeup Advent Calendar

A 24-day Christmas makeup gift set marketed to women and teen girls, with beauty and cosmetic essentials in a countdown format. It suits a younger recipient exploring makeup, and the countdown framing keeps it fun. The title does not break down the contents.

  • Strength: aimed at teens and women just starting with makeup.
  • Strength: 24 days of cosmetic essentials in a gift format.
  • Trade-off: brand and size details are not in the title.

For a teen who is just learning how to apply products, a daily item is a gentle way to build skills without overwhelm. Skip it if you need verified full-size counts.

Which One Fits Your Situation

You want the most full-size products

The e.l.f. Beauty Advent Calendar states 18 full-size items among its 24, which is the strongest ratio listed here.

You want to sample several well-known brands

Go for the Sephora Favorites 25 Days calendar, which covers makeup, skincare, haircare and body care, or the Sephora Collection edition for a four-category mix.

You are buying on a modest budget

The W7 Beauty Blast or the generic 24-day kit offer a daily countdown at a lighter commitment, though contents are less detailed.

The recipient is a teen or a makeup beginner

UCANBE targets that audience directly, and the Revolution calendar offers brushes and tools alongside products.

If two calendars tie, pick the one whose title lists the clearest breakdown, since a stated count of full-size items and accessories removes guesswork. Keep the packaging in mind as well: a sturdy numbered box can be reused for storage after December, which adds a little extra value to the purchase.

Common Mistakes

  • Counting 24 doors as 24 full products when a title may include minis and accessories.
  • Ordering late and missing the December 1 start date.
  • Ignoring ingredient or ethical preferences like vegan and cruelty-free.
  • Buying makeup-only for someone who mostly uses skincare, or the reverse.
  • Assuming shade ranges suit every skin tone without reading the listing details.

Advent Calendar Terms Explained

Full size, deluxe sample, and mini

A full-size item is the version sold on its own. A deluxe sample is a smaller but still usable size, and a mini is a trial amount that may last only a few uses. When a calendar advertises a large product count, the useful question is how many of those are full size, since minis and accessories can make up most of the doors.

Value claims

Calendars often state a combined worth of the contents. That figure is built from list sizes and is not a promise that you will use everything. Judge the box by whether you would reach for the items inside, not by the headline total.

Makeup-only versus mixed beauty

A makeup-only calendar fills doors with lip products, eyeshadow, and brushes. A mixed beauty calendar adds skincare, hair, or body care. Mixed suits someone who wears little makeup; makeup-only is a better match for a collector.

Shade range

Lip and face colors vary by calendar. A set with broad, neutral shades suits more people than one with a single bold color family, especially when you are shopping for someone whose taste you cannot confirm.

Setup and Gifting Tips

  • Note the opening date. Many calendars start on December 1, so order early enough that it arrives before then.
  • Keep the calendar flat and upright in a cool room, since heat can soften lipsticks and balms.
  • List which doors hold which products if you want to track what is worth rebuying.
  • Use the sample doors to try a new shade on the inside of the wrist before applying it to the face.

Who Should Skip These

If the recipient has a steady routine and loyal favorite brands, a surprise assortment may include many items she will not use. People with sensitive skin, allergies, or strict ingredient preferences should look at the full contents list before buying, since the doors are sealed until the day. Someone who wants a few high-quality full-size products may also be better served by a regular makeup set than by a calendar built around quantity.

Sizing and Quantity Check

Count the days. Some calendars run twelve days, others twenty-four or twenty-five. A shorter countdown has fewer doors to fill, while a longer one has to spread its contents across more pieces, which often means more minis and accessories. Decide whether you want a surprise every day for the month or a smaller, more selective set.

Common Brand Claims, Decoded

Words like vegan, cruelty-free, and clean appear on many calendars, but they are not all regulated in the same way. Vegan means no animal-derived ingredients, cruelty-free refers to animal testing policy, and clean has no single legal definition. If one of these matters to the person opening the calendar, read the maker’s own statement of what the term covers rather than relying on a banner on the box. Also look at the ingredient information for fragrance and dyes, since both are common triggers for irritation and are easy to miss on a sealed gift.

Finally, ask who will open it. A calendar meant for a teenager, a coworker, and a long-time makeup fan will each call for a different mix of items.

Related guides

Frequently Asked Questions

When should I order an advent calendar?

Early. Limited-edition boxes can sell out, and the countdown starts on December 1, so ordering in late autumn avoids delivery stress.

Are all advent calendar products full size?

No. Most mix full-size items, minis and accessories. The e.l.f. and Revolution titles spell out the split, while others do not.

Which calendar is best for sensitive skin?

None of the titles guarantee suitability. Look at the ingredient information for skincare items and patch test anything new.

Can I keep the calendar for later?

Most products inside have normal shelf lives, but check each item for dates. The box itself is designed for the countdown season.

About the Plus Size Fairy Editorial Team

The Plus Size Fairy editorial team writes about plus-size fashion, fit and body-positive style. Guides compare size ranges, fabric and fit notes from brands with real customer feedback, aiming to help readers find clothing that is comfortable, flattering and true to size.

Explore Our Guides & Free Tools